19.09.23 Morning walk+ Brand + the BBC


5:45 a.m. looking southwest towards Accrington town centre. Hollins Lane is a row of houses to my right and I am just approaching the post box on Royds Avenue.

It has been burning steadily through most of the night and I fear that my morning walk will become a drenched trudge through the rain. I cut short this morning’s plan to cut through Haworth Park up to Royd Avenue and back down to Hollins Lane.

The Russell Brand scandal (brandal?) continues together coverage in the media which is kind of  Bizarre as many of them would have been aware of his exploits for years. His father has been sucked into the mire which conjures up the thought the misdemeanors of the young are a plague on the parents. I suppose there is another tourism approach the powerful at peril of the taint marring your life. There is a question of public policy when publicly funded bodies such as the BBC become embroiled with the shameful exploits such individuals. For example many young men might say if I do as I please even the BBC will turn a blind eye – which means society won’t bother too much. And doubtless those who have denied themselves a lifestyle of reckless promiscuity to stay ‘true’ have been given a wake up call.
The BBC staggers from one moral crisis to another I wonder how long it can go on.

About TP Archie

I'm an accountant and I have lived in and around Burnley, Lancs, for most of my life. My four children are grown. I'm interested in current affairs and history. For a while I was the face of My Telegraph Writers on the blogging platform of the London Daily Telegraph. My hobbies include walking, American comic books and Anime. I have published: A Guide to First Contact The Turning Stone The Tau Device Works not yet published: Angel in My Heart Bluebelle Door Witch Dragon Shard Men for the Stars (in progress) Mission Samurai Shorter fiction: Eggman and other concoctions Night of Life and other fictions The Slow Holocaust and other stories The Wrong Lane and other diversions Under Winter's Bough Poetry Silt from Distant Lands Non-fiction Burnley (essays on the town and its Grammar school) Private reproduction Juvaini's History of the World Conqueror (a private reproduction)
This entry was posted in General, Opinion, Trivia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment