Risk in Infrastructure Projects


About 15 years ago I did a piece of work for Norweb plc. This was ground-breaking work for me – and for them as well, I suspect. On my side I had never contracted to a blue-chip company. And Norweb; well they didn’t have the modelling resource on-board. So they hired me. My task was simple; model out the consequences of them engaging in PFI projects.

This is the tale:
Back in the mid 1990’s Norweb plc were considering alternative revenue streams. At the time, PFI (Private Finance Initiative) was new and Norweb wanted to know whether entering into such arangements would be the right thing commercially. They entered into exploratory talks on several projects and realised they needed a view of the future financial impacts before making a commitment. PFI projects can span decades. They needed to model the future.
Projects involved a consortium of bidders who negotiated with publiv sector bodies for the right to construct and operate assets such as hospitals. Leaving aside the thorny issue of who actually owned the asset on completion, the idea was to recover the cost of build through future service charges. Several consortia would compete against each other. Consortium partners would interface but they made their own arrangements to determine whether their interest was financially viable.
The investment required by the PFI program was substantial.

Norweb Energi

At that time, Norweb had just been acquired by North West Water. There had been a bruising bidding war with Texas Utilities. (11 October 1995) and although North West Water won, (13 October 1995) there was a suspicion they had been forced to overpay.
North West Water
Just as North West Water began the post-acquisition process to determine which parts of Norweb to shut / sell / merge, I began contracting with Norweb.
My remit was to develop a model that would better inform them of the choices they faced. This process reached a satisfactory conclusion. I developed a framework for analysing risk which right now I am trawling through, to make suitable for the web.

.
.
.
More to come.

About TP Archie

I'm an accountant and I have lived in and around Burnley, Lancs, for most of my life. My four children are grown. I'm interested in current affairs and history. For a while I was the face of My Telegraph Writers on the blogging platform of the London Daily Telegraph. My hobbies include walking, American comic books and Anime. I have published: A Guide to First Contact The Turning Stone The Tau Device Works not yet published: Angel in My Heart Bluebelle Door Witch Dragon Shard Men for the Stars (in progress) Mission Samurai Shorter fiction: Eggman and other concoctions Night of Life and other fictions The Slow Holocaust and other stories The Wrong Lane and other diversions Under Winter's Bough Poetry Silt from Distant Lands Non-fiction Burnley (essays on the town and its Grammar school) Private reproduction Juvaini's History of the World Conqueror (a private reproduction)
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment