Tornadoes in Oklahoma


Research takes you places you’ve never been. In my case that’s Oklahoma (watching the musical doesn’t count).

Here’s a chart I pulled together, which tracks average tornado records in the period 1950 to 2013. For smoothing purposes, I took an 11 year average, charting against the middle year. No reason for 11 years other than similarity to the sunspot cycle.

Chart of OklahomaTornadoes

Oklahoma Tornadoes over recent decades

I couldn’t resist the urge to model this.

I still haven’t been… and yeah, this ties in with Alibi, top of my to-write list.

Source of data: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/?n=tornadodata-ok-monthlyannual

About Terence Park

Collections: vinyl records, comic books, paperbacks; I've plenty of them all. I also do spreadsheets.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tornadoes in Oklahoma

  1. tparchie says:

    Uhh yeah – I oughtta have trimmed the Excel edges off of the image edge.

Leave a Reply

