Burnley Literary Festival


About a month ago we finished moving home. We left Helmshore, Lancashire for the delights of Accrington. I think the dogs acclimatised best (new sights, smells and places to do their dumps) – and after them the cat. Relatives turn up and just expect you to drop everything and ‘have a brew’, but there’s so much to sort. We’re still sorting out the aftermath. Have gradually worked through the issues – offline, no TV, phone, broadband for weeks. It makes you realise just how awkward modern systems are. Anyway I just found out Burnley have drummed up their first literary festival. How good is that? I missed the build up – not having lived in the town for years and then there’s the move… I’m still unpacking and deciding what to dump


– I decided I’ll have to let go my early (1970s) UK Marvels  –the Mighty World of Marvel etc. Not worth much but they’re worth even less cluttering up the bedroom.

Mighty World of Marvel #1

Mighty World of Marvel #1

Going back to the Burnley Literary Festival, this is on from Saturday 29th October through to Monday 7th November 2016. That’s ten whole days! It’s also got Arts Council England support. There’ll be an Open-Mic event at The Paddock which will include performances by local poets, writers, etc. This is on Thursday, 3rd November 2016, 7:30 pm till late and The Paddock is on Hammerton Street, BB11 1NA. I’ll be there to read out poems and maybe an extract of two.

There’s other stuff going on, for more details check out Burnley Literary Festival.

 

About TP Archie

I'm an accountant and I have lived in and around Burnley, Lancs, for most of my life. My four children are grown. I'm interested in current affairs and history. For a while I was the face of My Telegraph Writers on the blogging platform of the London Daily Telegraph. My hobbies include walking, American comic books and Anime. I have published: A Guide to First Contact The Turning Stone The Tau Device Works not yet published: Angel in My Heart Bluebelle Door Witch Dragon Shard Men for the Stars (in progress) Mission Samurai Shorter fiction: Eggman and other concoctions Night of Life and other fictions The Slow Holocaust and other stories The Wrong Lane and other diversions Under Winter's Bough Poetry Silt from Distant Lands Non-fiction Burnley (essays on the town and its Grammar school) Private reproduction Juvaini's History of the World Conqueror (a private reproduction)
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment