Review: Weaveworld


Weaveworld
Weaveworld by Clive Barker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This is a pure blast of creativeness from Clive Barker. Depictions of power beyond reckoning are blended with normal everyday life. The novel defies description but in some senses is less than the sum of its parts – the pace in the fantastic narratives does not always fit well to the mundane parts. I was left with the feeling of creative but disparate excursions and as a result not always a smooth flowing read. Although much attention went on the Fugue, it felt incidental – set up just to be destroyed – a great deal of invention wasted. It deserved a separate treatment and on reflection it might have been strong enough for a stand alone novel.

Weaveworld’s cosmogony lacked an overall cohesiveness that would have given it a more plausible edge. Normally, an indication of the overall hierarchical structure can be elicited by the activities of supranormal entities. I looked for signs of an overall pattern but was unsuccessful. The great nemesis, the Scourge, begged a larger setting but this wasn’t forthcoming.

I would call this 2½ novels
• The Fugue,
• The Scourge
(both separately interesting) plus
random linking narrative (½ a novel of the mundane)
Despite these criticisms, Clive Barker gets a thumbs up for the vision.
Worth attempting.

View all my reviews

About TP Archie

I'm an accountant and I have lived in and around Burnley, Lancs, for most of my life. My four children are grown. I'm interested in current affairs and history. For a while I was the face of My Telegraph Writers on the blogging platform of the London Daily Telegraph. My hobbies include walking, American comic books and Anime. I have published: A Guide to First Contact The Turning Stone The Tau Device Works not yet published: Angel in My Heart Bluebelle Door Witch Dragon Shard Men for the Stars (in progress) Mission Samurai Shorter fiction: Eggman and other concoctions Night of Life and other fictions The Slow Holocaust and other stories The Wrong Lane and other diversions Under Winter's Bough Poetry Silt from Distant Lands Non-fiction Burnley (essays on the town and its Grammar school) Private reproduction Juvaini's History of the World Conqueror (a private reproduction)
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment