Science Fiction


Science Fiction narratives can be cowboys transplanted into space; they can also be an exploration of the possible. There are many sub-genres. Some of these have come to embed themselves in the public consciousness in a way that I couldn’t have anticipated in my early SF reading days, four decades ago:

  • First Contact with Alien Intelligences
  • Post-Apocalyptic Future

I find these intriguing because either, or both look like plausible bets sometime in the near future.

Works that involve first contact with alien intelligences raise a whole series of questions that are existential at both the personal level and the level of our species.

  • Where do our ideas and technology on, for example evolution, God, the origin of life; sit in the big picture?
  • Could we be manipulated and not see this?
  • How would we actually react to first contact with alien intelligences?
  • What would aliens be like?
  • Why would aliens not acknowledge attempts to contact them?
  • Our hominid cousins are extinct. Does that say anything about us?
  • How we might get along with creatures that were wiping us out?

I write because I think it cool to bring authenticity into fiction. I don’t do Cowboys-In-Space. Not yet anyway. I’ve read much in that vein and it can be entertaining, but that’s not what I want to portray. Instead I dip into history, culture and science; for example Dark Matter, Evolution, the Street Urchins of Paris, Nuit Blanche.

For the depiction of post-Apocalypse life, a deprived upbringing that is well-remembered, surely can’t be a disadvantage.

I wrote A Guide to First Contact to explore this.

About Terence Park

Collections: vinyl records, comic books, paperbacks; I've plenty of them all. I also do spreadsheets.
This entry was posted in Opinion, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

