How do you organise your books?


I was browsing The Guardian and Marta Bausells asked: How do you organise your books? Her poll offers the following options.

Alphabetically by author
Alphabetically by title
By genre
By size
By colour
Totally random
Other

Check out her poll here here.
I thought about it, quickly scanned my library:

IMG_1356

then I looked back at the poll and tried to make my mind up. I’ve just under 2,000 books and there is definitely is some order to them; I have a lot of fiction which are by and large ordered alphabetically. But what about Classics? And non-fiction, both paperbacks and hardbacks; and then there are professional books. Eventually I came up with my answer: Other. There was no other option. :-). Actually my library is as follows:

Fiction – alphabetically

Classics – by originating civilisation

Professional – by size

Non-fiction paperbacks – by field / topic

Non-fiction hardbacks – by size

 


How about you?

Do you own books?
Do you organise them?
Do you keep different genres apart?
Is keeping them organised a pain?

A quick word on libraries.

I dote on libraries. They are a mark of civilisation. When the power goes, what’s in your local library will be our civilisational fallback. You can forget i-this and cloud-that. They’ll be dead / deactivated, somewhere in a Moroccon desert, or in Nevada. if there’s no juice to run them, any dependent devices will be technological junk. It’ll happen, but hopefully not in my lifetime.

In the meantime my stories of post-urban times will have a hard edge. My starting point is: Everything has Fallen Apart. The storyline is: How did this happen? Can things be made whole? Protagonists, however, are rarely heroes. They live their small lives, unaware of the bigger picture. That’s life.
In Writing Day, the Last Library on Earth is at the bottom of a landfill. If you get chance, check it out. It’s one of the backup stories to Lucky.

[—polldaddy poll=8024714—]

 

About Terence Park

Collections: vinyl records, comic books, paperbacks; I've plenty of them all. I also do spreadsheets.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

