Everyone monitors their output don’t they?


Maybe not. Anyway, an update.

Update-24Mar Charting progress on Story Plan

Update-24Mar (for the analytical, yes it’s a spreadsheet)

Story Pedigree
When did each idea compel me to write it down? See below. I write starts on impulse. A couple however, started in my head months before the quoted date – these being Brant and Derelict. Most are planned as novels.

Oct-10 Winter in Alexandria
Apr-12 Brant
Nov-12 Derelict
Jan-13 The Central Sea
Feb-13 Faery + Village
Apr-13 A Sending
Jun-13 Asimov 3
Sep-13 Alibi
Oct-13 Without Question
Nov-13 Harjazes

The dates above represent the respective ‘landing stages’ of the first draft of the first substantive section, for each respective narrative. Everyone writes different; in my case I write enough to remind me of the story intent, so that when I return to it I can pick up the traces. The thing is it’s easy to write the stuff once you’re motoring; the problem is getting up to speed.

Noir is (relatively speaking) a new genre to me. This makes it the biggest challenge. Yet I know where Alibi will go and 10,000 words gives me a lot of leeway to write in.

The main danger is that it spirals out of control; i.e. I will write too much on one thing and although I get to total word count, I lose the thread on the later pieces. As a counter to this the genres I’m strongest in, come last (I’ve no publisher so I’m not pigeon-holed 🙂 ).

There is also a slight danger I’ll get a job. You never say never, even at my age.

About Terence Park

Collections: vinyl records, comic books, paperbacks; I've plenty of them all. I also do spreadsheets.
This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everyone monitors their output don’t they?

Leave a Reply

