How fast do you write


I record what I write. It’s not easy in the sense that you need to add an extra level of self-oversight. On the other hand, I’m not pushed – I set my own objectives; I write what I want and pretty much when I want.

I tend to write in chunks of text that can be anything between 500 and 8,000 words. Longer pieces of work are broken up into chapters / episodes – which fit within the above parameters. I know when each piece has reached its end. This is the point at which it satisfies my internal sense of completion. It hinges on whether it represents my writing intent or otherwise incorporate my thoughts. At this point it is in a state that, should I later need to revisit it, I am confident I will be able to pick up the pieces.

Recently I decided to go through my output over the past 14 months, categorise it by genre and chart it. What am I actually charting? Word count by genre. However, this isn’t made of from daily wordage (I do have that detail) rather it comes from the total word count of each piece from the point of time it satisfies my internal sense of completion. I don’t count re-writes, restructures etc… just new stuff.

 

Chart of Monthly wordcount 2013

Monthly wordcount
2013

 

What do I get from this? A sign post; an indicator.

 

About Terence Park

Collections: vinyl records, comic books, paperbacks; I've plenty of them all. I also do spreadsheets.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

